NEP-2020 & NAAC: Transforming HEIs

A two day National Conference on 'Mapping NAAC Assessment and Accreditation to NEP-2020 for Quality Education in HEIs' was organized by IQAC, Aggarwal College Ballabgarh on 10th-11th October 2022. The conference was sponsored by National Assessment and Accreditation Council, Bengaluru and was organized under capable guidance of Principal Dr. Krishan Kant Gupta as Patron. This Conference aimed to introspect on the benefaction and short comings of the policies and practices in higher education and how to transform challenges in Higher Education to strengths for the benefit of the students.

In the Valedictory Ceremony conducted on 11th October 2022, Prof. (Dr.) Rishi Pal, Dean Pedagogy & Capacity Building, Shri Vishwakarma Skill University, Haryana was the Chief Guest and Prof. S.K Chakarvarti was the Guest of Honour. In his Valedictory Address, Prof. Rishi Pal said that very relevant and significant steps have been taken by the Principal and his team by organizing this event. Such conferences prove to be quite beneficial for the growth of the nation. He further added that NEP provides an important opportunity to move Indian Education from sorting and selection to human development enabling every student to develop to their maximum potential.

Dr. Inayat Chaudhary presented brief summary of the two day conference. International Girl Child Day was also celebrated on the day by a meaningful deliberation by Dr. Geeta Gupta – Convener, Women Cell of the College. She exhorted all to break the stereotypes and diffuse the binaries. She also rooted for empowering women & ensuring equal rights for all.

Principal Dr. Krishan Kant in his address linked Girl Child Day with NEP-2020. He said that character is moulded in good schools among ethics. Through the narrative of Maharshi Valmiki, he further added that women should be respected and only then they can contribute to the development of nation.

In the Inaugural Ceremony of the Conference held on 10th October 2022, Prof. Rajbir Singh, Vice-Chancellor, Maharshi Dayanad University, Rohtak was the Chief Guest, Sh. Devender Kumar Gupta was the Chairperson, Dr. Krishan Kant Gupta gave the invited talk and Prof. S.K Chakarvarti was the Guest of Honour. The Proceedings of the Conference were unveiled and a book 'Sustainable Development Goals and Higher Education Institutions' was released. In the Inaugural Ceremony, Sagar Sharma – a student, who represented Haryana, and got Gold Medal in National Archery Championship was also felicitated by the guests. Another student Ms. Vandana was presented with a Sewing Machine by the College as a gesture to make girl students self-sufficient.

Besides these, six technical sessions were conducted during this two day conference which were chaired by Prof. S.K Chakarvarti, Ex-NIT, Kurukshetra, Prof. Harpreet Kaur, Principal, Mata Sundari College for Women, University of Delhi, Dr. Jaypal Singh, Associate Prof., Aggarwal College Ballabgarh, Dr. K.L Kaushik, Associate Prof., Aggarwal College Ballabgarh, Dr. Keshav Dev Sharma, Associate Prof., S.D College Palwal. The invited talks were delivered by Prof. Harpreet Kaur, Dr. Ruchi Tripathi, Assistant Advisor NAAC, Bengaluru, Dr. Manoj Shukla, Prof. S.K. Chakarvarti, Dr. Keshav Dev Sharma and Prof. Lokesh Gupta, Director IQAC, Mata Sundari College for Women, University of Delhi. Important, meaningful deliberations on NEP-2020 and its various implications and challenges were made vis-à-vis NAAC.

Significant feedback of the conference was provided by the delegates. The Conference concluded with distribution of Certificates to the oral presenters. Mementoes were given to the guests as taken of regards.

A total of 110 registered delegates from 06 states, 16 Universities and Colleges from across the country participated in this conference presented their research papers on various aspects of the theme thus providing food for thought.

Dr. Shilpa Goel was the Organizing Secretary, Dr. Ram Chander and Dr. Geeta Gupta Co-conveners and Dr. Dimple and Dr. Inayat, Joint Organizing Secretaries of the Conference.